Archive usually keeps the mail in Archive Folder, for future reference. Delete commonly puts the email in a Trash folder, which is periodically cleaned, or manually deleted forever on demand. You may access both of those folders from the Folders menu.
You can View your Folders by tapping the top left corner logo, and choosing the desired Account. Choose Trash/Archive.